The Pan-American Summit seeks to promote security and peace in addition to social and economic development. This committee includes nations in North, South, and Central America. The four pillars of the group are development, security, human rights, and democracy. In addition, the pillars are intertwined by cooperation, political dialogue, and legal instruments that supply the Pan-American Summit with the capabilities to maximize each member nation’s potential.

2018-2019 TOPICS 

  1. Illegal Immigration
  2. Sustainable Tourism
  3. Employment Discrimination

2018-2019 Pan-American Summit Topic Descriptions


Pan-American Summit Sample Country Research Paper

Pan-American Summit Country Matrix Cover Page

Pan-American Summit Country Matrices


Hi all! My name is Krina Shah, I’m a senior from Freehold High School, and I will be serving as the chair of the Pan-American Summit this year. The Pan-American Summit is a bloc committee, meaning it debates issues regarding a certain region. Additionally, we are one of the smaller committees at conference, consisting of about 30-35 delegates.

This year, PAS delegates will be discussing 3 topics. The first topic is Illegal immigration. In recent years, this topic has become a hotbed for debate as it has social, economic, and political implications. With each country holding a different immigration standpoint, it is imperative that PAS nations develop a solution that aids all people.

The second topic is sustainable tourism. Many of the countries within the Pan-American Summit rely heavily on tourism as their main source of income. However, as these countries start to urbanize rapidly to meet demand, there has been increased debate on what the right course of action is to ensure the well-being of their nation.

The last topic is employment discrimination. As it stands, many of the PAS nations discriminate in terms of gender, age, sexual orientation, and disability. As delegates, you will be discussing how to create solutions to the problems affecting the PAS.

With that being said, I am so excited to meet you all at conference, see you in January!